ELECTIONS 2020

At the meetings this year there will be two elections (for Churchwardens and PCC members) The elections are an important part of the proceedings and it is hoped that you will consider carefully whom you wish to represent the congregation. If you would like to stand, or nominate someone else please telephone the Vicar (01923 332244) or the secretary, Brian Thomson (01923 226850) for nomination forms before the meeting. Approaches to potential candidates should be made before the meeting so that they have sufficient time to consider whether they wish to make a commitment of this nature. All those coming to the end of their term this year are eligible for re-election, should they wish to stand again.

1. CHURCHWARDENS

At the Meeting of Parishioners each year we must appoint two Churchwardens to serve for twelve months, although (if willing to stand for re-election and nominated in writing before the start of the meeting) they are eligible for re-election in subsequent years up to a maximum of six consecutive years. After six years' service, two years must pass before they become eligible to serve again; this restriction may however be waived if the Annual Meeting so decides.

The essence of the appointment of Churchwardens is that it shall be by joint consent of the Vicar and the Parishioners. If there are only two nominations, then both are thereby elected; if there are more than two nominations an election is held. Under certain exceptional circumstances it is permissible for the Vicar to appoint one and for the Parishioners to elect the other from the remaining nominees.

The current Wardens are Steve Carpenter & Maurice Lisley.

Who can vote? a) Any lay person who is on the Electoral Roll, or

b) Any residents in the Parish whose names are entered on the

roll of local government electors.

Who can stand? Any person who is entitled to vote (see above), an actual

communicant member of the Church of England and is 21

years old or over.

2. PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL

The present Church Council consists of:

The Vicar : Rev'd Robert Riley-Braley (Chair)

Churchwardens: Steve Carpenter and Maurice Lisley

Deanery Synod members: Tony Barton, Guy Parks and Richard Doughty

Elected P.C.C. members:

Until 2021 : Jenny Bartlett, Anne Thomas, Lynn Williamson, Karen Pryse

Until 2022 : Debbie Clifford, Cherith Kingsley-Smith, Lynda Marshall,

Brian Thomson

Until 2023 : Richard Griffiths, Jonathan Cox, Thomas Lisley, Helen

McAlpine

Elected PCC members serve for three years, but one-third of the twelve retire each year with two thirds continuing so as to provide continuity. There are four vacancies for the three years 2021-2024. If nominations do not exceed the number of vacancies, all are declared elected.

Of the retiring PCC members Karen Pryse, Anne Thomas and Lynn Williamson are willing to stand again. If there are more nominations than vacancies, an election is held (in which only

members of the revised Electoral Roll may vote) and those with the highest votes are elected.

If an election is needed, each voter is entitled to the same number of votes as there are vacancies, and only one vote may be given to any one candidate.

Who can vote? Any lay person whose name is on the Electoral Roll

Who can stand? Any lay person

a) whose name is on the Electoral Roll and (unless aged under 18 years at the date of election) has been on the Electoral Roll for at least the preceding six months, and

b) who is an actual communicant member of the Anglican Church, and

c) who is aged 16 years old or over.